Another Night

(To me)
To me, each night
is suffering. Each
night goes on and on.
Silently I tell myself, “No
more. No more”. All
are asleep but me. The
children have
cried themselves dry.
He snores in his sleep.
He sleeps well enough.
In the morning he will
shout at me for provoking
him. He always needs an
excuse for hitting
me. Perhaps he sees
himself as the victim?
All are asleep. It will soon
be daylight.
At least, I can sleep now.
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
(I look)
I look into the mirror!
Once I was attractive. Looks are no
longer important. It’s all about
survival.
I have a card in my bag. The phone
number of a refuge.
Let this moment be
the beginning of
a new life. A new start for my
family. Escape from him
and his
pals.
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
(Mirror)
Mirror
All must change
………
………
………
(Please Mum)
Please Mum
If you can,
Take us away.
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
………
Change) (read slowly)
Change closes doors and opens
doors. I have little to pack. Some
money, address book, Emma’s Doll-
she couldn’t sleep without it.
To me it seems that each night is
easier than the last. Sometimes I
sleep, and when I wake it is morning
………
(When the link word/s is read [emphasised text],
the next person starts to read at the same time. A
person for each verse (5 people). When “To me”
is read in the final verse, the first verse is read
again: read
through completely twice
and finish on
“when I wake it is morning”.)
Leave a Reply

